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The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) estimates that roughly one in six Americans, or 48 million 

people, get sick each year from food-borne illnesses. Of these, approximately 128,000 are hospitalized and 3,000 

die. The annual dollar costs associated with these illnesses pose a $51 billion to $77.7 billion economic burden in 

the U.S., according to a 2012 study published in the Journal of Food Protection. These costs include medical 

expenses, productivity losses, and illness-related death.  

 

Idaho’s Food Safety Program began in the early 1970’s. Title 39, Chapter 16, Food Establishment Act, provides 

the Director of Idaho Department of Health and Welfare (IDHW) with the statutory authority for Idaho’s Food 

Protection Program. In turn, the seven public health districts have been designated as the “regulatory authority” for 

Idaho’s food establishments in a Memorandum of Agreement between IDHW and the public health districts. The 

public health districts seek to establish partnerships with the food establishments to promote safe food-handling 

and to guard Idaho’s consumers against food-borne illnesses.  

WHY IS A FOOD LICENSE FEE NECESSARY? 

CURRENT FEES 

Under the Idaho Food Code public health districts 

are required to perform at least one food safety 

inspection per year for each licensed food 

establishment. Food establishment license fees are 

set by the Legislature. Idaho Code 39-1607, last 

updated in 2009, sets the most current licensing 

fees at $65 for temporary, intermittent, and 

mobiles not associated with a restaurant; $85 for a 

mobile food establishment with a commissary; 

$125 for all other food establishments; and $150 

for a food establishment with more than two 

licenses on one premise, such as a supermarket 

with multiple departments.  

 

The costs to provide the inspections and associated 

services have increased since the program was first 

implemented and fees have not kept pace with 

inflation. Current fees cover only a portion of the 

cost. The total number of food establishment 

inspections conducted for fiscal year 2013 was 

10,932. These inspections cost public health 

districts $2,738,548. Fees collected for the 

inspections were $1,062,572, or approximately 39% 

of actual costs. The difference of $1,675,976 was 

covered by state and county taxpayer dollars. This 

reduces funding available for other important 

preventive health programs. 
 

On June 5, 2013, the Idaho Association of District 

Boards of Health passed a resolution in support of 

food establishment license fees equivalent to the 

actual costs and uniform between all health districts. 

There is no plan to  ask for a code update in the 2014 

legislative session; however, it is possible in 2015.  


